Regretting letting my ex go - Thoughts?

quarterlifecrisis

quarterlifecrisis

This is my first time posting to the forums, but I have been reading up on various users' experiences for the past few weeks. I'm not really sure why I'm sharing, as I feel as my situation is quite hopeless at this point (and completely my fault), but perhaps someone can offer some insight that I haven't been able to grasp yet. Much appreciated to people that provide actionable, thought out comments.

My Situation:

I started dating this girl 2.5 years ago, and our relationship started out really great. About a year in, I hit my quarter-life crisis and started questioning everything. Where did I want my life to go? Where did I want to live? Was she the right one for right now or the future? My own confusion and insecurities led me to rationalize my way out of the relationship.

I kept thinking that I was a young, goodlooking, popular, very successful/ambitious guy that had many more "prime" dating years left. I was curious and even though I really really liked this girl, I told her that I wasn't sure I could see us ultimately ending up together. .