Daily method...

shizzle_84

I've had a to do list of things I've wanted to achieve for some time. Something that's stretched to being undone 3 years later. My life's taken a turn (I should say I was the one who "took that turn") for the worse...

I felt like I'm carrying around all this weight, what it was I realize now is the emotional scar I carry around. Like peeling off my skin to "free myself".

I realize I'm talking in slightly abstract terms - maybe better not to get into specifics, but I hope anyone reading this can relate. So anyways, here I am sharing this with anyone who cares.

I feel that by putting some of these thoughts down in writing it'll help clear the cobwebs and push me to commit to a "daily method"... consisting of exercise (yoga, martial arts), creative work (writing) & diet (veggies etc.). And not to forget, a daily dose of social interaction (I work at home).

So my plan is to exercise as if I was planning to run a marathon in 3 months. Being an artist myself (at least I hope I am) I picked up this useful idea from author Haruki Murakami. He runs like marathon length runs, which is vital to keep his body's stamina as he dives into 6 months or years worth of writing a novel.

Martial arts was something I picked up maybe 7 years back now, starting with Wing Chun. The form was important to me to learn first off, but later I found that style of expression though didn't didn't agree with my body. So I moved on to Kickboxing, which although "crude" in comparison, it felt more natural to me, kind of like dancing. The core principles though from Wing Chun was so vital, I recommend anyone serious about martial arts - to go through Wing Chun first to at least burn some of the principles and techniques into your psyche (or muscle-memory) before moving onto something more free-flowing like kickboxing.