My ex has contacted me daily for last 5 years.

Fredski

Hi.

I'm a newbie here.

My ex partner of 15 years left me 5 years ago. For another man. A man who happened to be a mutual friend of many years. (Now an ex-friend)

At the time our child was 3 years old, now 8. Our relationship was in a very bad state and, with the benefit of 20/20 hindsight it was certainly a time when we should have separated, but she chose this way out - a one way door.

It nearly killed me but I have dealt with that.

She, after a year of uncertainty, has spent the intervening years living with the man she left me for, with our child.

I have dealt with that too. I accept it entirely for what it is.

In the past 5 years, ex has contacted me almost daily, usually to say something child-related, but sometimes to say something not child-related - something funny, a news event, etc. Most contact (usually via text) is of a nature that could have waited until I see her when we exchange our child, which has mainly been stress-free and amicable. These drop-offs/pickups are the only time I see her. We settled on an agreed custody early on, no family court custody battle, she has always let me see our child as often as I want/is possible, but she is the main carer, which suits me.

For a period early on, I was intent on limiting communication to the absolute minimum - this helped deal with the breakdown of what was our family, but for some reason I always ended up back in communication - it just felt un-natural to have her out of my life entirely. We did have a child to raise together afterall, if at a distance. Our child is very happy & healthy.

So after 5 years, I consider her a friend, and have no physical attraction to her whatsoever. I guess you could say that I love her in a Platonic way now. She wouldn't admit it but I think she may feel the same way.