Fallout from NPD Abuse

HurtinPDX

As I've written, my ex is an abusive NPD. And the aftermath of his dumping me has been completely reality bending.

We came from the same artist's community. When we started dating I thought he was my soul-mate. He is adored by many because he is completely charming. Within months we were engaged; people celebrated. Meanwhile he was castigating me private, gas-lighting, and being incredibly emotionally and verbally abusive.

But in public, with our mutual friends? He acted always adoring, always as if I held the keys to his happiness. Each and every time he abused me and broke up with me, he would make it seem to everyone that I was the one who dumped HIM.

Fast forward this final break up. I have gone NC. This means I haven't seen most of our community or mutual friends. It is a HUGE loss for me. I'm an artist, I want my community.

Today I had lunch with some mutual friends. They talked about how miserable he is. Apparently he is going around acting all sad. I told them point blank he had broken up with ME. They seemed shocked. They told me how "everyone" thinks I broke his heart. Apparently our community has rallied around him to help him "heal" from how I hurt him. This is so crazy making it is as absurd.

What the heck do I do about this? I feel like by being NC I am letting him control the narrative. Yet I want to take the higher ground and not feed his NPD. He has to know how this hurts me, but like any NPD he doesn't care. It's scorched earth at this point.

Do I fight back? How? Try to walk away and find a whole new community? As an artist I am tied to this community, I don't want to lose them. Do I accept all these people are always going to think bad of me?

This happened to me too recently. I've been asked to come back. And last week I went to an event, and the Narcissist I fell out with cornered me after several months of NC. They begged for my friendship and begged me to come back to the community.