How are you dealing with your mood swings?

DexterLS

It's been about 3 months post-breakup for me after my ex cheated and left me for another guy. 6-year relationship: She is working in another country and is with the guy there.

It's been only a week of NC, however, and yes I did all the bad things I shouldn't have done: begged, pleaded and cried etc etc. However, last Monday, I took a stance and told her, I'm done with all of her "breadcrumbs" - I'm just done and I don't think chasing her is what's good for me right now.

I have my Masters' degree coming up in about 4 weeks and so I'm really looking forward to that to help take my minds off things. However, right now, I am freelancing at home and at times, it becomes really difficult to cope.

I have irregular mood swings. Some days are good, some days are like hell. I have tried deep breathing. I have tried distracting my mind with other things (music, reading etc). I have tried hitting the gym etc but it seems to never be "enough".

Anybody with any coping tips for me?

Get in your car, turn the music up, and rage at her. Anytime the anger overtakes and I just need to get it out, that's what I do. I pretend he is in the passenger seat and I go at it. It really helps right before I go into work or before I go to an event/place that he would normally go with me to.

I have always been very vocal and I express my anger with words. This helps.

• Like 1
StalwartMind