I think I found a solution

Kel_star

Has anyone tried doing this to get over their ex? I have been obsessing over them for like 8 months. A couple weeks ago I completely cut them out from my life and the pain was even worse than in the beginning. 3 days ago I started this " trick" and it's almost unreal how great it's working lol.

Everytime a thought of them pops up, I think about something bad, and I keep adding to the list. For example : thought pops up: I immediately remind myself of how they often had bad breath so I just say "that bad breath person!'' and that makes me think about the moments where i was disturbed by this issue. Then I added to list and today I say bad breath, bitter person... and that makes me think of a mixture of the times they were boring and bitter/ had bad breath.

It's kind of a funny way, and I admit, may be IMMATURE, but it's working!! Now when I start thinking of them, I'm getting bad connotations. Not only that, most of the thoughts that crreep up in my mind are like nostalgic sad/ good thoughts, so when I interrupt my mind from dwelling on those thoughts and replace them with bad thoughts, it makes me think about them less in general!!In the past, I've had so many moments of I finally think I'm getting over it, but then moments of sadness come back, but I really think this idea is a keeper. I've even been able to listen to songs I avoided. What do you guys think of this idea?

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
Paragraphs

It's called NLP (Neuro-Linguistics Programming). It's definitely a good strategy to use to get over your ex. You're associating all their bad qualities with the memories you have of them.

I find this to be difficult me. I can't find too many bad aspects of my ex that would make me dislike them. Did your ex have bad breath or is that just something you place on them to help you move on easier?

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
  • Author