Soulless and anhedonic...

Beethoven

I'll be as concise as possible, since words really can't describe how perfect our love was, nor how terribly I feel this pain...

We were kind of friends in high school. It never crossed my mind though. I wrote notes to her silly poems, but I just did that sort of thing all the time back then.

She moved away to California in 10th grade and I never thought twice about her.

6 years later, I was having a particularly awful night. Grad school was hard, and I was having a very trying time while searching for an instrument (I am a classical musician). Music was everything to me, and I didnt have the means to express or adequately represent my gift. At my wits end, chain smoking on my balcony at 4am, I prayed that these frustrations could be resolved....and my phone lit up with her name followed by a nice pleasantry.

After four days of talking again, I know I was going to fall severely in love. Sometimes you just know when it's gonna be a biggie. On a total whim (why not life is short) I searched and found a good deal on a plane ticket from Houston to LA, and three weeks later I was free-falling from 10,000ft up in the sky with the love of my life. Literally, we jumped out of a plane...but it functions well as a beautiful metaphor as well.

It wasn't perfect. It was Empyrean.

I flew out almost every other week to see her, doing my studies on the plane and feeling such beautiful anticipation. She came to see me. We healed each others past scars and filled our lives with memories I will think of on my deathbed. We motivated each other and achieved our personal dreams and goals. She made me into the best possible me there can be. The stars aligned, and the most unbelievable things happened relentlessly. Indefinite long-distance was a laughing matter for us, and she became my best friend by talking every night for hours. And making love with her.....