I'm a college professor...just learned one of my students committed suicide this a.m.

tabbico

I am a college professor, and I just found out that one of my students committed suicide this morning. He was an "A" student, well-liked, and I am devastated because I have no idea why he did this. This is as much of a vent as anything - I am in shock right now.

HokeyReligions

I am so sorry. I can understang how shocking it is. I remember "that" phone call a few years ago myself. A friend - out of college for a few years - put a gun to her head. She was super-smart, honor society, popular, funny, ..... I'll never understand it.

Have you talked to a counselor? I know in high schools when there is a death like this the students and teachers are required to talk to counselors. I don't know about colleges - but I'm sure the resources are there for you. You may need to talk with a counselor just so you will be more comfortable handling the questions, confusion, and pain that your other students feel.

I hear of this happening often, out of nowhere. There is simply no way of knowing what goes on in the minds of people who otherwise seem normal and untroubled. Nevertheless, such loss is hurtful and shocking. It can never be taken as business as usual. Teen suicide in high school is also not uncommon. It's a time of great change and challenge in the lives of many who just aren't able to cope for one reason or another. Sometimes there are signs...sometimes not.

If you have nothing to look forward to... then why exist? Sure, good grades, honor socieities, and the likes make it seem like our kind is happy, but ultimately there is something else we cannot attain, no matter how much we try. This is from a personal experience. I'm on medication now... for social axiety disorder and severe depression, but sometimes it still doesn't help. Every night having the same awful nightmares and not being able to sleep because of thoughts that are keeping me up.