Obsessive thinking- how do I stop thinking about him?

offpiste

I need to find a way to stop obsessively thinking about what might have been.

The backstory: I studied abroad in college and met a great guy in Germany. Too often, when I meet a guy I'm physically attracted to, I'm turned off once I get to know them. But this guy interested me intensely, physically and intellectually. I suppose he was the first time I really fell in love. We met when I only had 2 months left in the semester. We dated, but knowing I was about to leave we decided that trying to maintain a long-distance relationship for 6 months or more after knowing each other for only two months wasn't feasible, so we didn't make each other any promises. I came home to the US in December 2008, and we chatted online or via webcam 3-4 times a week, for 4 or more hours at a time. We both graduated that spring. I was going to visit him in the summer, but my grandfather was dying of cancer and I couldn't leave, and he couldn't afford to visit. We continued to chat nearly everyday. Last December, I flew to Berlin to visit him, as well as other friends from my study abroad program. He had to work, but we spent all the time we could together before I had to fly back the day after New Years. Two weeks after that, I was in the middle of chatting to him on Skype and checked my facebook only to see that he is 'in a relationship' with someone. He had mentioned that he was dating months before, but he never said it was serious- and he certainly didn't mention it when I was visiting him. When I asked him what was up, he replied that things would have been different if he had a way to be within 100 miles of me, but his relationship with this other girl has the best chance of success. He reminded me of the 'no promises' agreement we had, and said he'd back off if I was too hurt to be friends. I was too weak to say I needed space, so we continued talking like we always had. I was also too much of a coward to tell him I'