I feel completely lost like nothing will make me happy

HopelessRomance

HopelessRomance

For basically the past 2 years I have been in constant relationships. I only dated for one of those years but I was best friends with my ex, lived with him and was the most important person in his life for a year.

Now it's all over and Im finally alone, living by myself. I have no close friends and basically no hobbies. I only work 3 or 4 days a week so I have no idea what to do with myself.

I am very shy and have extremly low self confidence which is pretty much the reason for the lack of friends and hobbies. I hate being in uncomfortable situations which is why making friends is so hard for me and I can't seem to enjoy doing something I'm not good at hence why I have no hobbies.

See where I'm going with this? It's like the only thing I am good at and like doing is being in a relationship and it takes two for that. I feel so lost and have no idea where to go from here.

I liked the bit you wrote about not enjoying things you just aren't very good at and so that why you've no hobbies. It made me smile because I'm like that!

Anyway, clearly you are insightful and if you can live as a best friend with an ex for a year are very strong and resourceful. There seem to be two issues one; you feel you need to be with another person to be whole and two; your lack of independce/self-esteem. For the first is counselling available to you? You could end up with some very unsuitable men if you don't address this. Posting on here and looking through for similar threads will unearth lots of invaluable advice too. For the second issue well do you know what you like to do and just can't be bothered or do you really have no clue about what would interest you? If you have no clue make a list of things you are unhappy with and start to change them, start with the easiest.