back, this time as the dumper

so I haven't been on here in a long time. I was here years ago when I went through a particularly bad breakup. I was in a toxic relationship which resulted in an even worse breakup. That guy is long gone, time and full no contact (mostly) healed those wounds.

Fast forward five years, I graduated college and moved to a big city. I had dated since my first breakup, but finding someone I click with is tough. I haven't had real feelings for anyone. Until I met someone new. At first I didn't take it too seriously, but then I fell for him. and it seemed like he had fallen for me, too. We dated for about four of five months but never made things official. Then things changed. He stopped texting as much, stopped initiating any plans to hang out and would dodge plans that I made. He checked out of the relationship, for several reasons that I guess ultimately don't matter, but still carried on as if things were fine. He has some of his own depression issues, and they're legitimate and I understand that, but it was clear I wasn't any sort of a priority.

So I ended things. I told him that I deserved someone that wanted me. He apologized, claimed his checking out wasn't intentional, claimed it wasn't about me. He said a lot of nice things... that I treated him better than most people in his life ever had, that he cared about me deeply, etc. but, to his credit I guess, didn't even pretend that he would be making more of an effort in the future. I told him I wasn't willing to go without it, and that was that. I deleted his contact information. That was two days ago.