Single male in unfamiliar territory. How do i make these doomed hopes stop?

Sycamore Flynn

Sycamore Flynn

I’m just beginning to enlist the help of my head in what has become a battle of the heart. Up to this point, I’ve been a most deficient negotiator for my interests in this matter, instead allowing my feelings to have complete reign. Thoughts of her invade my thinking, insensibly and unstoppably. I seem incapable of extinguishing my hopes--despite my best efforts, they spontaneously recombust.

I’m just beginning to enlist the help of my head in what has become a battle of the heart. Up to this point, I’ve been a most deficient negotiator for my interests in this matter, instead allowing my feelings to have complete reign. Thoughts of her invade my thinking, insensibly and unstoppably. I seem incapable of extinguishing my hopes--despite my best efforts, they spontaneously recombust.

I wish I had a solution for you, but, in its place, let me just tell you that I know how you are feeling and feel the exact same way. Extinguishing hope, excavating the feelings, moving on etc., is so tragic in itself, that staying in this state of false hope and despair feels like the better option.

I'm in the same boat. It helps to read what others have gone through and how they got through out. Everyone's situation is unique. One day I'm good and the next I'm a wreck and just going through the motions. Just take it day by day...that's all you can do.

• Author
Sycamore Flynn

I’ve cobbled together an anguished, accusatory, mean-spirited, but so far unsent letter. Am entirely divided on whether I will ever send it. I’ve been told that such a letter can actually aid in the healing process, but also that it comes with certain risks.

Enough time has passed that I can send this post mortem: