Feeling numb.

I’ve never done anything like this before and haven’t talked to anyone about my situation. It may help to know if maybe someone else out there has been through or felt something similar. Sorry about the length..

I have been with my boyfriend for just over three years. For a long time things were really amazing. He is my first real relationship and first love. When we first started dating we were at similar stages in life - we were both going to community college and working part-time jobs. He made it very clear from the beginning how much he genuinely cared for me. We shared our goals and talked about how we wanted to be with one another for a very long time. At the time we were both working towards our goals of starting careers and just growing in general. About 7 months into our relationship I transferred to a university and moved away, something he knew I was going to do since we first started dating. We were both really sad about me having to move away, even though it was only a two hour drive, but we were committed to making it work and he supported my decision. He treated me well and loved me hard. He was really clumsily romantic and was extremely loyal from the very beginning. I am pretty introverted and keep a small circle of people in my life and commit to those people. I don’t go through a bunch of short friendships or open up to many people, and he was the same way, so once we were involved we were committed to it and making it work no matter what. We didn’t fight often and made it through the semi-long distance relationship with very few bumps. He understands me in a way a lot of people don’t and accepts me and my flaws. He tells me he loves me as often as he can.