The "Staying Friends" Dilemma

She broke up with me over the period of months (trying to make the transition easier for me), but she wants to maintain a shallow friendship (with limited contact, and no intimacy) for an indefinite period. I find that idea painful. In the long term, I don't think platonic friendship will work out for me, unless we get back together. There is also no way I am staying friends if she starts dating someone new. We have had some sexual interaction since breaking up, but she has been reluctant the last few times. She claims that she still wants to have a sex life with me, but that she doesn't think it's a good idea (and the latter takes priority). I find this highly unnatural and awkward; you can cut the sexual tension between us with a knife.

How often does staying friends work? How often do exes stay friends and get back together? I have little relationship experience, because this particular relationship lasted so long. As the dumpee, I feel that I am probably suffering more in this situation. She admits to feeling a strong sexual attraction, still loves me and is in love with me, yet needs space. Apparently the relationship simply got too intense for her, since we were having disagreements regularly, and I crossed some emotional and privacy boundaries (peeked into her life out of suspicion). I know that we can make it if she gives me another shot, but she says she doubts it will work out, and won't give me another chance right now, if at all. This was a very intense and passionate relationship with lots of plans for the future discussed (marriage, living together, staying as a couple for life). So it's not exactly an ordinary break-up. We seemed to stay together against many unfortunate circumstances, and I felt that the relationship was just hitting its stride, at which point it fell apart.