Is there anything I can do to peak her interest in me again?

hopelessromantic

hopelessromantic

Hello I am a newbie here and have really enjoyed all the forums, the people on here have great advice.

Well my girlfriend of 2 years just broke up with me and although I should have seen it coming, I didn't and now I am devastated.

Her interest level in me has been declining for some time and I didn't do anything about it. I have been depressed for over a year gaining 30 pounds and struggling through school. I am in my 5th year of college and she just finished her 1st year at law school at the top of her class. We both love each other very much but she doesn't want to go through my ups and downs with school/depression anymore. She has told me that she is really stressed out, emotional, and just needs time to think. I take that for this is the end. I just want to show her that I still am the man she fell in love with and the passion can come back to our relationship. Am I kidding myself? She always told me to chase her but now she says she doesn't want me to. What do I do????

We are both confused. One one hand I feel if I give her time/space I will lose her, and on the other I feel if I chase after her I will lose her. Is it really a no win situation for me. Is there anything I can do to peak her interest in me again???

Thanks for any help anyone can give me.

My opinion is that it's good for you to be out of a relationship right now. Get some couselling, or whatever else it takes, to cure your depressions & solve your personal problems (this may take a while!). That'll probably help you sort things out with school as well.

THEN, you'll be ready to be in a relationship again, and if this gal is available, you'll try getting back together with her.

Your first step, in my opinion, should be taking up exercising - it'll help both with feeling down, and with the extra weight.

best of luck!

-yes