The messy messy stuff - how to clean it all up and move on?

Hey all, I figured I needed to find a place to get some strings-free advice, so I stumbled upon this board. Hope you can help a fella out :)

I'm no pro with breaking up, I'll be honest. The situation as it stands is as follows:

- Dating a girl for 3 or so years now...I don't even remember, it's all one big blur these days...

- Have wanted to break up for at least a year and a half, if not more.

- She started out nice enough, but sooner or later she got clingy, obsessive, insecure, jealous, bad-tempered, you name it.

- I forgave and forgot the first few times, but then it became clear that this was just who she was right now, and that no matter how hard I tried to help her by talking it out with her she would always pretend to be okay and then find a new reason to get depressed over something and take it out on me.

- When I first tried to break up with her last year, she went into a sobbing tantrum and locked herself in her bathroom. A few minutes later I persuade her to open up and find her hesitating over cutting herself.

- I now know that she has begun cutting again (apparently she used to do it a while ago but was "over it").

- Me being a softie told her it was okay and I'd give her another chance.

- By doing that, of course, I'd inadvertently put her under pressure to "get better"...and so she doesn't get better at all, just temporarily seems happy only to be insecure/emotional again over trivial matters (e.g. me talking to a girl buddy and looking like I'm having fun...)