Hurt, Sad, and Feeling Used

Hey everyone. I'm a male student studying in England in my final year. My flat mate was an exchange student from the United States (only here for 3 months), and we hit it off right away. The relationship started pretty slow, I didn't know if she was interested, but she really drove it forward and eventually we became boyfriend/girlfriend.

But, the whole time- things didn't seem right. She refused to update her status on Facebook, and in the beginning- she even told me she had a boyfriend, but things were complicated. I confronted her about it. She said that she didn't want to be with him, and that he was suicidal, etc. etc. She said that he had given his mom $2000 for a eurotrip that was already paid for and that she was going to live with him and she didn't want to.

I'm a very understanding guy, so I tried to help, and I told her it was okay and that we would work things out. I told her to go on the trip since I didn't want her to lose the money. She was incredibly sweet, drop dead gorgeous, and she was so hardworking- having a full scholarship. Things were great, we would spend morning to evening together. We did have a hiccup where she broke up with me over an argument, but that only lasted a week and our relationship just grew stronger than ever. But, the whole exboyfriend thing always seemed suspicious, and when I asked her why she talked to him everyday on msn- she responded it was because "he had done a lot for her."