No Sleep at Night. Long Days Ahead. (long read)

Whats up people.

So here I am, finally registered after about a week of reading everyone's stories. I feel compelled to share my own because, well, not only does misery love company, but perhaps, on some level, writing it down will make this all make sense in my own head.

I'll try to keep this as brief as I possibly can, though it has been one heck of a Summer for me.

I graduated from Law School in May, and began studying for the Bar Exam shortly thereafter. On July 2nd, I received a random friend request on myspace that I originally thought was one of those spambots. It wasn't. It was her, the single most beautiful girl I've ever laid eyes on. And apparently, she thought I wasn't bad looking either. I just took the compliment and got back to my bar studies.

Within a few days, though, the messages became more regular, and eventually, they turned into texts, which turned into phone conversations. Within a week we were talking for 3-4 hours every night. About everything. Her day, my day, our lives.

She had quite a colorful past. I, on the other hand, pretty boring. She was a victim of sexual abuse, and severe mental abuse from both of her parents. As a teenager, she turned to alcohol and drugs to such an extent that it caused her to have chronic kidney disease now, in her mid-20s. She has had several suicide attempts, the latest being one a few weeks before she met me, which put her in the hospital for quite awhile.

I stayed away from drugs and alcohol, but I have my own demons. Mainly, I battle depression, anxiety, and severe self-esteem issues. Other than that, I had a pretty normal life. I'd say even a successful one at that.

So, while talking to her, her past somewhat concerned me, but I saw the person she was, and not who she may have been. Hey, everyone deserves a clean slate, right?